Pusher/Puller Props.

Discussion in 'Scratchbuilding!' started by ANB31, Jun 2, 2011.

1. ANB31

ANB31 Rookie

Hi,
    I am totally new to the hobby, so I want to clear my doubts before I get to the build my first RC plane. I was going through your video on the puller/pusher props and as I understand, it’s by simply reversing the direction of rotation of the motor we can convert either of the props to behave like a puller or pusher, only thing to note is that the lettering on the prop should always face outwards.

I assume that when we have a puller prop its generally in the front of the model and the prop wash is towards the motor, however when the motor is mid/rear mount the prop wash has to be away from the motor or else the craft will fly backwards thanks to 3rd law of motion. This prop wash direction can be controlled adjusting the direction in which the motor rotates but how about rotating the prop itself otherwise in one of the case(Motor direction reversing) the training edge of the prop will be meeting the air before the leading edge, wouldn’t it affect the lift and performance?

2. Argonath

Argonath Top Gun

a prop always needs to have the lettered side facing the direction of travel of the plane. You can reverse the direction of rotation of the motor by swapping 2 of the 3 wires from the ESC to the motor.

If you put the lettered side facing the rear of the plane then you lose a great deal of thrust from the prop.

3. ANB31

ANB31 Rookie

thanks for the response. So we just have to ensure the lettering should always be in the same direction as that of the intended direction of the plane. It’s not at all an issue if the trailing edge of the prop cuts the air before the leading edge? Also my assumption on the direction of the prop wash correct for the various motor mount positions as posted earlier?

4. Argonath

Argonath Top Gun