Dual motors, Dual BECs (Tutorial)

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by LukeWarm, Jan 4, 2012.

1. LukeWarm

LukeWarm Top Gun

I am an electronics technician. I saw the video at the top of the forum on hooking up dual motors. If you don’t know why you do it, REMOVING ONE RED WIRE IS THE SAFE THING TO DO. BUT, if you are using the same battery (or two batteries Y-connected together), you do not need to pull the one red wire. The only reason to do that is if you are powering the ESCs with separate batteries; if there is a difference between the batteries, they will try to equalize each other through those little wires. Five or ten amps going through those little wires will melt them and destroy both BECs.

Powering the identical ESCs with the same power source (separate batteries Y-connected together, or one battery) prevents this and always gives each motor equal power. That is what DAVE suggested on the video. DAVE’S WAY OF CONNECTING THE BATTERY(s) IS THE BEST WAY, but with his way, the little red wire does not need to be disconnected because differences between power sources are no longer possible. All the little red wire does is power the receiver (and the servos and gyros the receiver controls).

One big benefit of leaving it connected is: if you have two 3 amp BECs, you now have 6 amps available to power the receiver. The two amperages are in a parallel circuit, so they add. To do this you must have identical ESCs and motors, getting power from the same power source. In other words, you can supply the receiver with two power sources, but they must be identical; Otherwise, do not take the chance. The exception to the rule is; expensive BECs have a switching regulator, they will fight each other if used in parallel and get very hot. Manufactures are working on a solution. Only BECs with a linear regulator can be used in parallel.