MODDING the Wild Hawk

Discussion in 'RTF / ARF Helis & Planes' started by Patrick_W, Feb 8, 2009.

1. Patrick_W

Patrick_W Rookie

Wild Hawk mods?

I know there a lot of guys out there with wild hawks! Im not a beginner anymore but i almost want one just to let my friends fly, and to mess around with... So, lets start a thread to show everybody your modifications!

2. FoamyDave

FoamyDave Rookie

BillyD's WH Mods

I'm just starting out with my Wild Hawk and I have a plan to mod it as my skills progress. Billy D has a wonderful set of videos and photos showing how he hopped-up his WH. Use the link below and scroll about half way down the page.

http://www.billydsrc.com/

Step 1: More power by adding a 3 cell Lipo.
    Step 2: Ailerons but use the 3 channel radio after disabling the rudder.
    Step 3: Brushless motor and ESC
    Step 4: 4 channel radio (get the rudder back).

Look in my signature below for a link to my blog. I'm recording my experiences and the little adjustments I have made to my WH.

3. Manwe Nomin

Manwe Nomin Rookie

I just got my own Wild Hawk about two weeks ago, and between school and bad weather, I've only been able to fly it about three times so far. I haven't yet made any mods to it (considering I'm a beginner at this) unless you count the maybe 3 times I've had to either tape on or glue on the nose portion due to "vertical landings" as FoamyDave would call them.. :eek: It's been a great experience though. It was never the nicest day out there on those days, so I've had to learn flying and landing into some stronger wind than I'd hoped. But all the parts are still good, so it's been sort of a trial by fire deal (minus the training I got on the sim, of course).