Warning! This site requires Javascript. Learn how to enable it here.

How to transfer plans onto Depron and cut out parts?

Discussion in 'Scratchbuild Talk' started by Cunningbaldrick, Jul 29, 2011.

1. rcfoamfly

rcfoamfly Airman

Hi Guys. I am a complete novice at this and this is my first attempt at a Depron plane. I have the sheets of Depron ready. I have all the parts cut out from the plan. Whats the easiest most accurate way of cutting the individual parts from the plans. Do you recomment sticky taping the papaer part outline onto the depron and cutting around the outline or with a pen, draw the outline from the papaer part outline. Hmmmmmmmmmm. If my mind dfrfts i will end up cutting out a Banana and not a F18 ;). cHEERS FROM AUSTRALIA
  2. erajomppa

erajomppa Ace Pilot

I just printed the plans on paper, put the paper where I wanted on the depron and put some tape in the corners (on big parts, some on the middle) and just cut it though the paper. I know there are some better ways, and when Im actully going to make one of these RCPowers plans, Im going to probably trace the lines onto the depron directly. Since they are so well made I want to make sure I cut them properly. But so far I have cut two profile planes like that and it works for me.
  3. kaptondave

kaptondave Rookie

I cut out the parts andtape them to the Depron, then cut with an Xacto knife. The most important thing is to use a clean sharp blade. Buy a pack of them and change them often - as soon as you feel it beginning to drag as you make the cut. The best cutting surface is a dress-maker's cutting board because that will not dull the blade, but the boards are expensive. A good alternative is MDF. To keep the edges straight use a metal ruler as a guide. Be as precise as you can when cutting tabs and slots so that you get a good fit.
  4. Mertz42

Mertz42 Cadet