Warning! This site requires Javascript. Learn how to enable it here.

how to make ailerons works has flaps

Discussion in 'Scratchbuild Talk' started by dnutz0002, Dec 9, 2010.

1. dnutz0002

dnutz0002 Rookie

hey i am still new to flying and i am having trouble landing due to coming in to hot. my plane is a nitro plane skytrainer cessna but it does not have flaps. i saw a video of a guy whos plane had ailerons and was able to make them work as flaps as well as ailerons. would really like to know how to do this because i do not trust myself to cut the wings to make flaps. thanks. i am using a dx6i transmitter with a spectrum AR6200 reciever.

sky trainer.jpg
  2. rodrigo

rodrigo Ace Pilot

too easy guy!!! you need independent servos for each aileron (one left and one right).
    First: connect the right servo to aileron channel (maybe ch1?) and the left servo to flap channel (channel 6 or 5)...
    second: program your tx in wing type DUAL AILERON program (read pages 43 to 47)...
    third: adjust the flaps position : normal flap = 0 elevator =0 / land flap+30 (- if the flap moves up) elevator=0 (page 68-69) you can use a inverted value for elevator to make a simple airbrake (flaps down elevator up, but try this setup in a secure altitude and with lower mix values... be careful!!
    thats all!!
    if the right aileron don´t move when you hit the flap switch you will need to program a custom mix where ch6 (flap ) is master and channel 1 (aileron) is the slave... mix value -100% (page 70-73)because they need to move in the same way

good luck
  3. dnutz0002

dnutz0002 Rookie

thanks alot i will try this, i really appreaciate your time. i just hope that i can figure it out.
  4. aronph

aronph Rookie