Fiberglassing

Discussion in 'Scratchbuild Talk' started by Kos-Mos, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Kos-Mos

Kos-Mos Rookie

Hi there!

I have a project that requires something stronger, yet smaller in space than ABS or Styrene plastic I have been using to build the proto.

I have ordered some 3/4oz fiberglass cloth and some resin kit.

I need to build some negative mold before making the fiberglassing, because internal dimensions are more lenient than externals.

I want to know if it would be possible to make a fiberglass negative and then apply some coating to prevent the final work from sticking to the mold. Since it will be resin/resin surface, I fear that some regular de-molding wax won't be enough.

Also, I have never done fiberglass before, but did my research before jumping into it.

2. MoTheG

MoTheG Airman

That is common practice, no problem, just let the mold set befor you glue the positive to it. ;)

3. Kos-Mos

Kos-Mos Rookie

Thanks!

I will try this in a few weeks...

I am trying to find some carbon fiber cloth, any clue as to where to find some at a decent price?

So far, the local auto custom shop wants to sell some to me at about 30$/sq.yard for 1oz. material... I don't know if it is normal price, but since I get the fiberglass equivalent for 5$/sq.yard....

4. Crash-man

Crash-man Rookie

Hey there!

I have done TONS of fiberglass work over the years. My Pattern planes' fuselages were FG to cut down on weight.