Warning! This site requires Javascript. Learn how to enable it here.

Computer controlled RC plane

Discussion in 'Scratchbuild Talk' started by erajomppa, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. erajomppa

    erajomppa Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    1,025
    Likes:
    44
    Points:
    48
    Is there a way to control your RC plane with computer? Like give the stick positions from your computer rather than your transmitter, of course signal should come from the transmitter. I had this idea, when I programmed my 22 dollar HK radio when plane was turned on.

    I really dont know what questions I should be asking here :p I just want to be able to fly my plane from the computer, with gamepad for example.

    With FPV, live video coming to your screen, it would make the worlds most expensive simulator :D with real flying planes! so why would anyone want to do it?

    because its awesome :cool:
  2. MoTheG

    MoTheG Airman

    Posts:
    1,156
    Likes:
    6
    Points:
    38
    of cause it is technically possible.
    one could connect a µ-Controller to the serial-port and let it create the sequence that gets send. For an old analog TX that would be easy.
    USB and 2.4GHz would be much more difficult.
  3. erajomppa

    erajomppa Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    1,025
    Likes:
    44
    Points:
    48
    Yeah, and someone has probably done it already. Wish there was an existing system.
  4. dtribby

    dtribby Top Gun

    Posts:
    4,054
    Likes:
    621
    Points:
    133
  5. erajomppa

    erajomppa Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    1,025
    Likes:
    44
    Points:
    48
    Yeah, but that´s wifi controlled right? So no 2 mile range and stuff :p
    Should do more research on it, but isnt it just for smartphones and alike? dont know if it works off of a standard laptop with wifi, and what the actual range is.
  6. SGC

    SGC Cadet

    Posts:
    39
    Likes:
    0
    Points:
    6
    You can possibly use a tablet ( Hp touchpad, IPad 2) you also could use the accelerometer in the tablet to fly the plane. :rolleyes:
    HP-TouchPad-Tablet.jpg
  7. oliviu11

    oliviu11 Rookie

    Posts:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Points:
    0
    control a rc plane with a computer

    Hello guys,

    I am trying to do my final year project and I need to control a RC Plane from a computer. I am using a VICON
    NEXUS system that will give me the location of the plane in the room. Then using MATLAB or C++ i need to design a program that will control my plane in a desired way( making circles,squares etc).

    The big problem is that I don't have any idea how to connect my RC plane( 40 pounds plane) to the computer in order to give the commands.

    Does anybody have any idea?? Anything would help me because at this point I am running out of time...


    Regards,
    Oliviu
  8. erajomppa

    erajomppa Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    1,025
    Likes:
    44
    Points:
    48
    http://www.flytron.com/56-compufly-usbtoppm-converter.html

    This is one way, its hardware that allows you to convert any human interference device (mouse, keyboard, touchpad, gamepad, joystick etc.) into a ppm signal. Search more with terms like "usb to ppm" or "compufly". This is not the only usb to ppm device available ;)

    Btw, for compufly the software is open source, it can be found on the linked site.

    I would love to try this out when I have the money and time.
  9. ScottLott

    ScottLott Administrator

    Posts:
    3,024
    Likes:
    989
    Points:
    133
  10. squishy

    squishy Top Gun

    Posts:
    6,104
    Likes:
    993
    Points:
    133
    I am building exactly this right now, but I am not using the computer stick posted above, I am using an old 72mhz 5ch radio because it gets a 5 mile range, later I will buy a dragonlink UHF system for 15 mile range, but I am just starting out still. I have a video capture card to plug the video RX into and then I use a video overlay capture software to display the video on the screen next to a google earth track...there is no point in having a gamepad or other device control the airplane or have it go through the computer yet, I have gps guided autopilot without that for $200, there are computer controled OSD systems on the market though and it would be easy to do, this is the wrong place to be asking these questions, go over to FPVlab for stuff like this...
  11. Argonath

    Argonath Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    6,884
    Likes:
    228
    Points:
    83
    that would depend on the transmission power output.

    Besides why fly from a computer out in a field when you can use internet to fly your plane?
  12. squishy

    squishy Top Gun

    Posts:
    6,104
    Likes:
    993
    Points:
    133
    lol...just because it can be done, doesn't mean it should be done...
  13. oliviu11

    oliviu11 Rookie

    Posts:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Points:
    0
    Thanks for that. it really helps. But I want to create an Autonomous flight for the uav. So the output has to come from the computer straight to a transmitter(or to the remote with a cable but then comes the problem to connect that cable somehow with the remote and match the voltages from Matlab with the commands in the remote).

    Anybody wants to try to work with me with regards to that? I will share my final year project at the end to do whatever you want with it. :) (sell to the army for millions of pounds/euros :)) )
  14. squishy

    squishy Top Gun

    Posts:
    6,104
    Likes:
    993
    Points:
    133
    Been done already, seriously, go over to the forums at FPVlab, there's people already flying them and off the self products to do it...
  15. wheelbarrowjackson

    wheelbarrowjackson Cadet

    Posts:
    882
    Likes:
    10
    Points:
    18
    ...
    rgreene@n35:~$ ping 24.155.225.22
    PING 24.155.225.22 (24.155.225.22) 56(84) bytes of data.
    ^C
    --- 24.155.225.22 ping statistics ---
    8 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 7055ms

    Uh oh...
  16. Argonath

    Argonath Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    6,884
    Likes:
    228
    Points:
    83
    Oh yes it does.
  17. Argonath

    Argonath Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    6,884
    Likes:
    228
    Points:
    83
    Not the same thing. You're talking about a point to point connection and not a transmission. You would use the internet to bounce off of WAP points to push a signal out to the plane. No packet loss because you're not trying to establish a connection, only transmit a command via an existing TX point.
  18. wheelbarrowjackson

    wheelbarrowjackson Cadet

    Posts:
    882
    Likes:
    10
    Points:
    18
    But it is the same thing. That's the way the internet works. If you can't get there from here, neither will your control movements.
  19. Argonath

    Argonath Ace Pilot

    Posts:
    6,884
    Likes:
    228
    Points:
    83
    My Municipality has free wireless internet available from anywhere. There are WAP points all over the place so if I were to push a TX signal off the WAP points, all of them would push it into a TX and the bound RX would in theory pick it up. Also if you're getting your signal from a Cell RX, you could in theory use a skype style application to call the cell RX on the plane and use the carrier TX towers to fly the plane from commands issued over the internet as well. No IP here, just internet to 4G.
  20. wheelbarrowjackson

    wheelbarrowjackson Cadet

    Posts:
    882
    Likes:
    10
    Points:
    18
    The internet is IP. That's what the I in IP stands for. All modern data is packetized at some point even if it's sent over ATM.

    When you connect to an AP, you are given an address. If you're using windows, open a command shell and type "ipconfig /all" and you'll see that you've been given an address by the DHCP server on that network. If you have no IP assigned, your packets cannot route. If they don't route, they don't go anywhere.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Scratchbuild Talk I'm going to buy a computer radio.... Feb 22, 2014
Scratchbuild Talk Any Computer Problems Dec 24, 2012
Scratchbuild Talk New Computer. Do I have to repurchase plans to download? Oct 24, 2012
Scratchbuild Talk Computer cut F18V2 plans for sale soon in Australia Oct 22, 2011
Scratchbuild Talk Convert a computer ATX Supply to workbench supply Nov 5, 2009
Scratchbuild Talk Plane Computer chips Sep 4, 2009

Share This Page

string(1) "1"