Warning! This site requires Javascript. Learn how to enable it here.

Airsoft + RC = UAV!

Discussion in 'Scratchbuild Talk' started by MadMonkey, Apr 8, 2009.

1. MadMonkey

MadMonkey Rookie

I try to combine hobbies when possible. When I started playing Airsoft (MilSim) last year, my first thought was how cool a UAV would be in this type of environment. I pitched the idea to some of the guys in the DFW area, and shortly thereafter I was contacted to put together a UAV for a local Airsoft event.

Here's the result! I started with a basic Easy Star airframe so the plane would have a passing resemblence to the RQ-11 Raven. I added ailerons which also act as flaps and spoilers, then painted the whole thing Haze Gray and added Marine decals. We even went to far as to create a fictional squadron (VMU-4 "Vultures").

The camera is a KX191 with a 900mhz TX/RX combo from Rangevideo.

Completed plane

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Me and my silly mug

[​IMG]

Very basic base station setup... it's going to change a lot before the Airsoft event this thing was made for

[​IMG]

And a couple of in-flight pics

Flyby
    [​IMG]

Flaps down for landing
    [​IMG]

Unfortunately, at this time I don't have any way to capture video directly from the receiver, so I had to have a friend directly film the LCD monitor. The quality isn't that great, but it's all I had to work with at the time.

Here's an early test video:

And here's an overly cheesy (the way I like it :D) teaser I made for the upcoming Airsoft event that this was built for:

Enjoy!

The local Airsoft guys are going nuts over this... and I haven't even told them my plans for the future... :D
  2. kwik-kid

kwik-kid Rookie

thats pretty cool, could you add airsoft granades to drop?
  3. MadMonkey

MadMonkey Rookie

Weapons are in the works for future projects :)

For this one I mainly wanted to get a camera plane in the air. Future plans include a Global Hawk and a Reaper (with weapons) ;)
  4. test-theory-man